Riding Single File

I feel I’m nearing the end of my stay in Brooklyn. I’m not sure when the move will finally happen. It could be next week (not likely) or two years from now (also not likely.) I’m feeling the call to move, literally, to greener pastures. I need a little more natural beauty in my life and hipster infested McCarren Park doesn’t really cut it. I do want to stay nearby, however. Maybe it’s the Hudson Valley, perhaps Maine, Pennsylvania. . .? One thing I do know is that no matter how beautiful and ‘progressive’ San Francisco is, I appreciate the East Coast more for one reason: There are less people telling me what to do and think. While I was riding my bike home from my cat-sitting stint today, I saw a guy open a popsicle and throw the wrapper on the ground without a second thought. It was then that I realized that since I’ve been here I don’t think anyone has chastised me for not recycling (go ahead and try it–I have an ironclad argument for you,) I haven’t received any death threats for driving a non-hybrid vehicle, and no one has yelled, “Get a helmet!” at me from the sidewalk when I’m riding my bike the wrong way on a one-way street. In short, people here mind their own fucking business.
Oh, and another reason I would like to stay on the East Coast–I am now part owner of a six-story building in Istanbul. I know, I know, it would seem to make sense that I just live in Istanbul full-time, but that just is not going to happen. And I can get cheap, direct flights to and from JFK. I like my life, so stop trying to tell me I need to buy a stupid, ugly nylon reusable shopping bag, thank you very much.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

