Favors

Qiong came. She didn’t tell me I was fat and she actually complimented me on my foot juggling skills. Then she asked me to mail a package to Florida, wanted contact information for agents who could get her work, begged me to find her a job at a Japanese restaurant (“much cleaner than Chinese”,) demanded that I write her a referral for her green card application, wanted me to find her free English-language classes, and asked to borrow a couple of diabolos (chinese yo-yos) for a show. That was in the first 10 minutes.

Most of those things I am in a position to do, and actually would enjoy doing had I the time. But as it is, I’m leaving for Istanbul tomorrow. Next post will be from an office overlooking the Halic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

